top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRiley Smith

Rice Diaries: Day 9

I don't wake up until 10 a.m. I slept 14 hours last night. I think my body needed sleep so badly, it just forgot how uncomfortable my entire living situation is for one day.


My mother sends me a message asking how I am feeling. She asks me this a lot and I really hate this question. I'm sick as a dog and I just have to keep telling her every time I'm still sick and then she says oh I'm sorry that sounds terrible. I don't want to be reminded of how bad my health is. I know she loves me and is just worried about me (and I hate that I have to worry that she may read this at it may hurt her feelings,) but it feels like she pities me and that just makes me feel worse.


I can't blame her for pitying me though. I'm so sick/depressed I can't even get out of bed. I watch Little Monsters on Hulu, which is absolutely terrible. It's easy to fall in love with that Lupita Nyongo, but its just a very poorly written zombie comedy that I couldn't recommend to anyone. I did cry when Lupita Nyongo plays Taylor Swift on ukulele though. I'm very emotional and sensitive these days and find myself crying very easily.


Day Fucking 9

For lunch, I make some more rice with oyster sauce and pepper. This time, to change things up, I also saute some pears and throw them into the mix. They don't really affect the flavor much, but at least it's slightly different. I know the one pear I had the other day seemed bad, but these pears today seemed okay. Plus, I sauteed them, and that gets rid of the bad stuff, right?


Then I crawl back into bed and play video games on my Switch. I've beaten most of my video games, I don't really have new ones to play, so I just play games I've played before on harder difficulties in an attempt to forget I exist. That seems to be my intent with a lot of things. Whether I am creating and consuming art, whether I'm dancing or doing drugs, I often measure my success on how aware of myself I was in the process. And the less aware of myself I was, the better I feel about the event. I just want to forget I exist because whatever I am experiencing is so powerful. Whether it's euphoria or just feeling numb, stopping the endless succession of thoughts within my head is a temptation often hard to ignore.


I get another message from my mother. She tells me she thinks I should come back home. This makes me so sad and also so angry. Why didn't she tell me to go to Bali when I asked before then? Doesn't she know she is too late? I can't go home now, if I go home I am giving up. I lose. I failed. If I went to Bali, I would have stuck it up to the man. I would have defended my honor. It would have been cool. But if I leave now, I am a coward. I stayed just to give up a week later. I would get the worst of both worlds. I have to try to make my life better, no matter how awful my life seems right now.


I'm still hungry so I make more rice.


No pears this time, just oyster sauce

I end up continuing to feel sorry for myself and start watching Schitt's Creek. It seems very blah, which I guess is exactly what I looking for. I don't want to think or feel anything, so this show is very easy to watch. I don't really like it though (even though I love Eugene and Catherine.)


That night I also run out of drinking water. I only have one more day until I get paid and I can boil some tap water with some ginger and brown sugar to make some tea, but running out of regular drinking water in a country where you can't drink the tap is very scary.


Just keep your head down, buddy. You have to be through the worst of this. Just one more day.

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

SAKEY

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page