top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRiley Smith

Rice Diaries: Day 10

I didn't have any dreams last night, but I do have significant back pain. My mattress sucks.


Tommy and Ryan cancel our phone meeting for this week and start planning a reschedule. This breaks my achey breaky heart. I was really looking forward to talking to those guys. I could use the pick me up.


My mother sends me a long text about how Trump made some deal with Ukraine to try to make Biden look bad or something and now everyone is mad at him again. Sounds intense. I kind of don't care though. I don't miss reading the news, gonna be honest. That shit is stressful. It sounds awful, good luck over there everyone. Maybe that's the bright side of my China trip, not thinking about that crap everyday. Instead I just think about how I'm lonely and sick of rice and pears.


I want to message Fernanda or Salma or Metal, but I'm scared of talking to any of them. I don't want to be a bother. I end up messaging Fernanda because she is the only one who I think will respond. I ask if she is going to an expat karaoke night this upcoming Sunday, which she says she isn't. She then invites me to get dinner in Nanjing with her and a friend. I have to politely decline because I am out of money. Thank god I get paid next week.


I lock down an interview teaching at a school in Shanghai in two weeks. Maybe this will be my out finally. Even if it doesn't work out, at least it's an excuse to go back to Shanghai.


Day 10

I eat more rice with pepper and oyster sauce. I am now out of oyster sauce. If I am going to eat anymore rice, it will have to be plain.


Feeling extra tired and depressed, I continue to play stupid video games and watch stupid Schitts Creek. I can't wait to get paid and start a normal life again.

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

SAKEY

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page